Best kept secret

Originally I wanted to write this blog in order of my travels, but that all went out the window when I started writing about Japan. I’m going to jump back to 2010 so bare with me. Unfortunately I can’t find the majority of my photos from this almost secret island.

If you take the British countryside and put it on a tiny island, and throw in some French food, what do you have?  The gorgeous (not often heard of) Channel Island called Guernsey. It’s situated in the British Channel, 50 kilometres west of the coast of France and over time has been invaded or occupied by the French, British, Germans and Spanish. Now Guernsey is a British Crown dependency, but not a part of the United Kingdom, contrary to common belief.

Image

For the first time travelling by myself, Guernsey was the perfect place to do so. Guernsey is small enough that I could wander through the winding streets and not get lost (no matter how hard I tried), I could explore the many historical sites or I could relax by the coast, taking in the stunning views. I’m not the kind of person who can spend a holiday sitting by a pool with a magazine; I’ll be bored within an hour. Here I always had something to do without the stress of a big city or people to keep entertained. Plus with combination of my not so secret loves for French pastries and English accents meant I was in my happy place.

Image

Image

The total area of Guernsey is only 63 square kilometres and if you feel like a long stroll you can walk from the east coast to the west in under two hours. It’s very quiet and peaceful but watch for cars in the narrow streets. Some of the two-way streets are not even wide enough for a small car and a person to be side by side. At times I was on tiptoes trying the edge past cars. On the south side of the island the coastline walking tracks are very picturesque and on a clear you can see as far as the Normandy coastline.

Image

Image

Guernsey has a long and interesting history with so many ancient ruins, castles and war bunkers to see. To the north is Le Déhus Passage Tomb, a grave with mysterious rock carvings inside, Fort Doyle and Vale Castle, a castle believed to be older than the Tower of London with views out to the smaller islands of Herm and Sark. To the west is the Victorian fortification of Fort Hommet and Lihou Island. To south is La Table des Pions, also known as the Fairy Ring and numerous forts and bunkers from when the Germans occupied the island in World War II. The Little Chapel, said to be the smallest chapel in the world, is inland from the south coast. To the east is Clarence Battery, Castle Cornet, and St Peter Port, the capital of Guernsey. Also worth mentioning is the Boulangerie Victor Hugo, an incredible French bakery on the outskirts of St Peter Port.

Image

Image

While all of these are great to visit, nothing beats the sunsets on the west coast. Believe me when I say that no two sunsets are the same!

ImageImage

Comments
8 Responses to “Best kept secret”
  1. I love guernsey! One of my dream destinations! Thnx for sharing! Lisa K

  2. Nerri says:

    Gorgeous pictures!

  3. Tina Schell says:

    Lovely post and beautiful header shot. One of my favorite books was about Guernsey “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society” by Mary Ann Shaffer. You need to read it!

Leave a Reply

