Unnecessary, but necessary

Image

Strasbourg, France 2011

“Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things which give value to survival.”

C.S. Lewis

The more I travel, the longer I spend in different countries, the more I realise the importance of friendship. While a week alone exploring new sites and cities can be peaceful, living alone in a foreign country can be tough, especially somewhere like Japan. It’s no easy place to make friends, however after four months I’ve found a wonderful group of people who make Tokyo feel less stressful, more enjoyable. Finding people who accept me as the strange person I am in a country where people are quick to judge has to be the first good luck I’ve had in a long time. Though as much as I like my new-found friends, I wish someone would invent teleportation soon so I can go back to Europe to visit those crazy old friends of mine (you know who you are).

Leave a Reply

