Sun Princess

It’s amazing how in such a big city like Tokyo I find myself visiting the same places over and over again – a terrible habit since those places are Harajuku or Shibuya, usually leading to shopping! Today I was determined to escape the city and find something new. I’ve been to Yokohama a few times before though never had the chance to enjoy the pretty (if not industrial) bay area. The last time the view was lost to a huge sand storm.

With the sun shining onto the harbour where the Sun Princess cruise liner sat peacefully it was the perfect setting for relaxing…and people watching! I have to admit, this is one of my favourite pass times, particularly in countries which I’m foreign to. Normally most people I see in Japan are unhappy, with a fake smile plastered on their faces, but not today. Whether it was the summer sun, the sea breeze or simply a different city, everyone I saw was full of life. Young couples in love, mothers chasing their excitable children, women blowing bubbles, photographers, students, old friends, new friends, animal friends, and artists depicting their own interpretations of the Sun Princess. Whoever they were, whatever lives they’ve led, they were beautiful, they were happy, they were real.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Comments
6 Responses to “Sun Princess”
  1. Iamrcc says:

    Wonderful photos of your new experience. I think we tend to go back to the same places because it was a good experience and/or we felt comfortable. Thanks for the visit and the like of my post “Full Frame”.

  2. Suze says:

    oh my, I love the first picture. Must have been a great adventure! :)

  3. Sangeeta says:

    I smiled to myself when I read this post. I lived in Tokyo for about 8 months and all I did initially was hang around Shibuya and Akihabara initially until I started exploring a bit beyond.

  4. What a lovely day out. Yokohama is a lovely place to walk through and explore on a sunny day.

  5. I always end up in Shibuya or Harajuku too :p

Leave a Reply

