The Climb

As I’ve stated in an earlier post, I’m more inclined to visit a place if I believe it’ll make a great photo. Should that place happen to be on top of a mountain only accessible by foot, I will still go. Since I was young I’ve had a habit of climbing things, big or small, always trying to reach higher and higher. I feel a mix of exhilaration and calm standing above my surroundings, breathing it all in, reminding myself that the world is much bigger than the city I live in and there’s still so much to see. 

On Sunday I made use of the beautiful weather by visiting Mount Oyama for the first time. Mount Oyama is 1,252 meters tall and offers great views of Kanagawa prefecture and Mount Fuji. There is a cable car which goes as far as Oyama-Afuri Shrine, then it’s roughly a 1.5 hour hike from here to the peak. But be warned – the majority of the track is made up of uneven stairs. Your thighs will burn! The mountain is relatively easy to reach (take the Odakyu train line to Isehara station and then a bus) and not hugely popular so you won’t be climbing with thousands of people…usually! If, however, you happen to go during Golden Week, a week of national Japanese holidays, then it will be crowed. Very crowded! I made this mistake…

Note to self: Never do anything during Golden Week!

Still, it was a great day and the endless view was worth the thousands of stairs. My camera got a good workout as every sight sent me into a snap-happy frenzy, much to the annoyance of my friend. As for my legs, well, they’re still suffering from their first workout in a very long time. I guess it’s a sign – time to join a gym!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Comments
2 Responses to “The Climb”
  1. Tim says:

    I love those places we travel where at every turn it becomes a photo opportunity. Not because we are so eager to snap away but because the views are so breath taking. The climb up Mount Oyama seems like it is definitely one of those places. As for your legs and the gym, if its a sign, take it.

  2. Kamila Pala says:

    Great collection of pic! I like it.

Leave a Reply

