Flower Fields

So I’m starting a new job tomorrow and I figure, why get a good night’s rest beforehand when I could be writing a new blog post instead! Seems only logical.

I realise these photos are long overdue since sunflowers are only in bloom in Australia until late January and it’s now April. Better late than never I guess! These were taken on trip to Allora in the countryside of south-eastern Queensland. There are no designated places for viewing the sunflowers so we just drove along the New England Highway and pulled off whenever we spied any. I visited sunflower fields last year in Japan but they were nothing compared to these giants which were double the size! In fact, I took the first photo while standing on top a 2 meter high fence just so I could see over the flowers.

A trip out to the sunflower fields and back from Brisbane is definitely possible in a day but if you do decide to stay the night I recommend driving up to Toowoomba as Allora itself is a very small town. The best time of year to see the flowers is late December to early January.

You might as well pencil it now for the next Christmas Holidays…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

